Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress #1) by Jeaniene Frost Review

 5441773Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father – the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She’s amazed she doesn’t end up as his dinner – are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn’t have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

There is a specific reading order for the Night Huntress series, including all other Night Huntress World series books, and some novellas. If you do not read them in the Author’s suggested reading order (below), other than ‘Reckoning’, the books will not make sense, or you will read spoilers. The author’s recommended reading order is:
RECKONING (eBook prequel novella set in Bones’s point of view before he meets Cat*) though I would recommend reading this after Book 1 so that you know the characters…
HALFWAY TO THE GRAVE (Book 1: Night Huntress Series)
ONE FOOT IN THE GRAVE (Book 2: Night Huntress Series)
HAPPILY NEVER AFTER (eBook novella*)
AT GRAVE’S END (Book 3: Night Huntress Series)
DEVIL TO PAY (eBook novella*)
DESTINED FOR AN EARLY GRAVE (Book 4: Night Huntress Series)
MAGIC GRAVES (eBook anthology featuring a Cat and Bones story*)
FIRST DROP OF CRIMSON (Night Huntress World novel)
ETERNAL KISS OF DARKNESS Night Huntress World novel)
THIS SIDE OF THE GRAVE (Book 5: Night Huntress Series)
ONE GRAVE AT A TIME (Book 6: Night Huntress Series)
THE BITE BEFORE CHRISTMAS (contains a long Cat and Bones novella, “Home for the Holidays”)
ONCE BURNED (Book 1: Night Prince Series)
TWICE TEMPTED (Book 2: Night Prince Series)
UP FROM THE GRAVE (Book 7: Night Huntress Series)
BOUND BY FLAMES (Book 3: Night Prince Series)(releasing January 26th, 2015)See link: Jeaniene Frost: Reading Order




amazon barnes and noble

Storyline : 4 Stars

Bones: 5++++ Stars

Cat: 2 Stars

Overall rating : 4 Give me More Stars


Let me start with the heroine Cat, she drove me so insane. I considered not finishing this for a moment- However the great writing, along with an engrossing story line and a FANTASTIC HERO in Bones, made me go on. The writing just flowed, not a boring moment with lots of action. My only complaint was Cat,  stubborn, narrow-minded and idiotic. Some of the things that come out of her mouth….


Seriously for most of the novel, I just wanted her to just shut it and think before she speaks

I did try to put myself in her shoes, concerning her mother’s past and the environment she was raised in, then I’d remember her age. Cat is old enough to know that bad exists, in humans as well as vampires- She herself witnesses this on many occasions, yet her prejudice and bias never cease. I am hoping to see a lot more character growth in the coming novels. I have to admit that being in her head was sometimes hilarious, she also begins to redeem herself as the book progresses. Then we are left with that ending and  again I’m feeling angry.

Now for Bones, he is PERFECT. I just love his humor, he is loyal, loving and a true alpha, pure perfection.  Bones’ attitude never once comes across as overbearing or off-putting. He sure does not let Cat ride roughshod over him, but is the picture of devotion nonetheless.

 “You stare straight through me as if I’m not even there. You look at me…and you don’t see a man. You see a vampire, and therefore accord me less substance”

One of the main reasons I am reading the following books is Bones, I just hope Cat proves herself worthy of him in the coming instalments.

Other things I loved besides the romance, are the action and the side characters, the evil ones as well as the good, not to forget the ignorant ones. I quite enjoyed seeing Cat kick Hennessey and Oliver’s asses.

I am glad I finally took the plunge to read this, highly entertaining. If you are like me, always late to the party and still haven’t started this series in 2014, I highly recommend. Better late than never.

Click on Books to add to your TBR

Reckoning (Night Huntress, ... Reckoning (Night Huntress, #0.5)
by Jeaniene Frost
Unbound (The Hollows, #7.5;... Unbound (The Hollows, #7.5; Night Huntress, #0.5; Sign of the Zodiac, #4.5; Dark Days, #0.6)
by Kim Harrison
Halfway to the Grave (Night... Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)
by Jeaniene Frost
Happily Never After (Night ... Happily Never After (Night Huntress, #1.5)
by Jeaniene Frost
Weddings from Hell (Night H... Weddings from Hell (Night Huntress, #1.5; Brotherhood of Blood, #3.5; Nicki Styx, #2.5)
by Maggie Shayne
One Foot in the Grave (Nigh... One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, #2)
by Jeaniene Frost
At Grave's End (Night Huntr... At Grave’s End (Night Huntress, #3)
by Jeaniene Frost
Devil to Pay (Night Huntres... Devil to Pay (Night Huntress, #3.5)
by Jeaniene Frost
Four Dukes and a Devil
Four Dukes and a Devil
by Cathy Maxwell
Destined for an Early Grave... Destined for an Early Grave (Night Huntress, #4)
by Jeaniene Frost
Magic Graves (Night Huntres... Magic Graves (Night Huntress, #4.5; Kate Daniels, #0.5)
by Jeaniene Frost
Death's Excellent Vacation ... Death’s Excellent Vacation (Sookie Stackhouse #9.5, Night Huntress – Complete World #4.5, Aisling Grey: Guardian #4.5)
by Charlaine Harris
This Side of the Grave (Nig... This Side of the Grave (Night Huntress, #5)
by Jeaniene Frost
One Grave at a Time (Night ... One Grave at a Time (Night Huntress #6)
by Jeaniene Frost
Home for the Holidays (Nigh... Home for the Holidays (Night Huntress #6.5)
by Jeaniene Frost
The Bite Before Christmas (... The Bite Before Christmas (Argeneau, #15.5; Night Huntress, #6.5)
by Lynsay Sands
Up From the Grave (Night Hu... Up From the Grave (Night Huntress #7)
by Jeaniene Frost

Leave a comment

Filed under A Must Read, Jeaniene Frost, Paranormal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s